The Board is responsible for the governance of the organisation, overseeing the performance and outcomes achieved by the management. The Board sets and monitors the strategic direction, and is accountable back to member Age Concerns.

Judge Ken Mason - Patron

Stephanie Clare, Chief Executive

Stephanie has worked in leadership roles in the NGO sector for more than 20 years. She has a background in nursing and was the Clinical Leader for Parkinson’s New Zealand before taking on this role. Stephanie hopes to improve the lives of older people by ensuring older Kiwis are supported, recognised and fulfilled.

Wayne Bradshaw - National President

Wayne is on the Board of Havelock North Age Concern and currently holds the role of Chair. Having been self-employed for most of his working life in property, hospitality, horticulture and accommodation sectors. Wayne believes it is important to bring his skills and experience to assist and progress the rights of older people both in his community and nationally.

Stephen Phillips - National Vice President

Stephen worked in local government for over 35 years and in the NFP sector for 8 years. He was Chief Executive of Age Concern Canterbury for 5 years and now sits on its board, and on a number of trusts. He understands the importance of, and is committed to, working to achieve the wellbeing, rights, respect and dignity of older people. Stephen was awarded the Member of the New Zealand Order of Merit for services to seniors and the community in 2021.

Adrienne von Tunzelmann, Board Member 

Adrienne's inspiration to become involved with Age Concern was the privilege of supporting her parents in their older age, combined with the opportunity to contribute her experience working in government economic and social policy to Age Concern’s key role in advocating for policies that help ensure a good later life for New Zealand’s older population. She serves on various other boards including Age Concern Tauranga and Osteoporosis NZ. Adrienne was awarded a QSO in 2016 for her services to governance and the community.

Robert Aitken, Board Member

Robert is an Associate Professor in Marketing at the University of Otago’s Business School. He first became involved with Age Concern in 2007 when he was co-opted to the national board for a two year term to develop a new brand position for the organisation. In 2010 he was elected to Age Concern Otago’s board and has served as Chair since March 2013. He is excited he can again put in his energy and contribute his experience at national level.

Jan White, Board Member

Jan has spent 40 years working in the health and disability sector predominantly in our communities and has a strong commitment to supporting the well being of Older People.She has a long history serving on various NFP Boards and is conversant with the importance of strong ,strategic governance to ensure organisational growth and impact . Jan was awarded the Queen’s Service Medal for services to seniors and people with disabilities in 2021.

Charles Tyrrell

Charles has worked for the benefit of older persons in the UK and NZ, firstly as a Registered Nurse and then as an Anglican priest. Charles’ last full time position for the Church in Nelson was as the Enabler for Older Person’s Ministry. Charles joined Age Concern Nelson Tasman and serves the community as Chair of their Board, during which time they have seen growth in the extent of their services. Later in 2020 Charles will stand down as Chair of the Positive Ageing Forum, which is undergoing change since the new government strategy was implemented. Charles was awarded a QSO in 2006 for his service to the community.